top of page

May Blog Positive Poems

Updated: May 28, 2021


As the final post in this blog series I wanted to end on a positive note. I chose some poems from the Positivity section of my book, I hope they bring you peace and hope.



Signs


I’m feeling perpendicular

As everything goes awry

Standing on the wall

As life passes me by


I try not to think

Of things that make me sad

Instead I keep my mind

On what will make me glad


My days are full

Of the oddest stresses

To pin-point the issue

I always take guesses


Catatonic Schizophrenia

Will not let my hubby speak

I think we found a way

To conquer that this week


Teaching him some signs

May help him out

The simplest ones

Will be best, no doubt


Single movement signs

That don’t take much thought

May have a way

To ease his distraught


Thoughts that appear

Without warning

And mess up his mind

Most every morning


Finding a way

To silence the doubts

That overwhelm

And anger my spouse


I know that he

Would be much happier

If he could break

Through this barrier


I took two years of American Sign language in high school, and I still remember a few of them. I wanted to be a teacher, I found out really fast that wasn’t the career path for me. We’re still waiting to see if using the signs to communicate when he is catatonic will work. Fingers crossed.



Steadfast


Some people don’t mean

The things that they say

Others take heed

In the worst way


When people are

Unhelpful and rude

Do me a favor

Don’t sit there and brood


Words can hurt us

If we let them

But keep in mind

From whence they come


Helpful people

Give out boosts

Jealous people

Just dispute


Your thoughts are private

They’re all your own

This is true

“It is known”


No one can read

What’s on your mind

That’s not the way

We’ve been designed


Even when it feels

Like people are judging

Remember me

And all of my loving


When you fly

Away in fear

I’ll bring you back

To Earth, my dear


I will remind you

Of universal truths

I even have

Some physical proof


My love is unending

It will not fade

I’m here for you

I cannot be swayed.


Everyone needs a reminder that they aren’t facing life alone sometimes. Even when it feels like the darkness is closing in, there is always a ray of hope.



Strive


Some people dream big

Some people dream small

Some people dream

Of nothing at all


Every dream is reachable

If you just try

There’s always a chance

To hit the Bulls-eye


Reach for the moon

‘Cuz if you miss

You’ll be around stars

For your next wish


Having a goal

That’s hard to achieve

Keeps you striving

And makes you believe


That there is good

Out there for everyone

If you believe in yourself

You’ve already won


The only one who can stop you

From reaching your dreams

Is solely yourself

You know what I mean


Most dreams begin as

A single wish

Then all of a sudden

Poof! Swish!


The wish becomes

A solid goal

Our path, our future

Is finally whole


Reaching your dreams

Is a reason to live

I want to see

What you have to give


Dreaming of better things is sometimes the only thing that keeps us going in the darkest of times. I hope this poem encourages you to think about what goals you want to reach in your life. Go after them wholeheartedly, and never give up.




Donation


With long hair

I choose a ponytail

Once off my neck

I can exhale


Now its so short

I only need clips

To keep my hair

Away from my lips


I grow out my hair

For “Locks of Love”

They do work

I am proud of


Using donated hair

To make wigs

For cancer faring

Little kids


I’ve donated hair

So many times

I hope they’ve made

Wigs of all kinds


I’m a poor person

Without lots of money

This is a way

I can give, from me


To give someone hope

For a better day

Keeping a childs

Fears at bay


In six months

My hair will grow out

I will donate it again

I have no doubt


I don’t need it

But they do

I’d rather donate it

And see it renewed


If you have

Twelve inches or more

Make a visit

To your Great Clips store


They take your donations

And send them away

To turn into wigs

So children can play


I have been donating my hair (when I could) for as long as I can remember. I’m getting to the age when grays are beginning to appear, so I may not be able to donate for kids wigs anymore, but they also make wigs for adults facing cancer as well. The requirements for hair donation are 12 inches or more, and no dyed hair. My dead dyed hair is gone, and I can donate my hair again in six months.

Since publishing this blog on 5/24 I have been informed that there are places that do accept color treated hair. All you have to do is look, and the length requirements vary depending on the donation location.



**All images sourced from the WIX website

20 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page