top of page

May Blog Medical Poems

I have a lot of medical issues that I am still trying to figure out. Sometimes it sends me into a tailspin. The following poems are from the Medicine section of my book.



Coping


I shouldn’t rotate

My hips and knees

It affects my gait

The pain won’t ease


I need to find

A way to walk

Where legs are aligned

And I don’t balk


Sometimes I forget

I’ll twist and turn

That’s when I fret

And begin to yearn


For a body that works

Like everyone else’s

I’m sick of these quirks

I feel so helpless


I know I need

To accept my limits

Still I bleed

To stop the grimace


I want to be normal

Just like you

Thankfully I’m mortal

I’ll wait in the queue


I have my ways

To do what I want

I even amaze

My own heart


When I’m building

Worlds or Legos

I’m not wilting

I move like tornadoes


Being creative

Brings me joy

It’s a stimulative

I enjoy


So I write

For breaks I build

My future’s bright

I’m super thrilled

Moving in certain ways brings pain, learning not to make those movements is a struggle. It is hard to break a lifetime of habits. Below is a picture of something I like to do to ignore pain, my own photo.



Medicine


Every time

A migraine hits

I feel like a greenhorn

It’s the pits


My mind goes blank

I don’t know what to do

With every step

The pain will renew


I have meds

I know work great

Because of this

I’m a cheapskate


I hoard the meds

Cuz they cost more money

Than I make in three months

To put it bluntly


I would love to have

A bigger supply

But my insurance

Always asks me why


They mustn’t control

What patients need

Meds are important

IC’s shouldn’t impede


My course of treatment

Because of money

It’s not like I’m

A strung out druggie


I am in pain

Twenty-four / seven

The meds help the pain

To decrease or lessen


I recently learned

I shouldn’t be

In pain every day

That isn’t the key


To a long

And productive life

Pain only leads

To the path of strife


I wish the pain

Would go away

I’m only asking

For one day


It is difficult to find joy in life when pain wracks my every movement. I still try to keep my hopeful outlook, but sometimes I could really use a break from having to be so strong.



Overwhelmed


Having a

Disease is a chore

Mostly one

You abhor


Doing what

The doctor ordered

Very slim chance

On moving forward


Taking meds

Might not work

Still can’t do

Most housework


Mine is genetic,

There is no cure

As days go by

I must endure


The pain and anguish

That pins me down

Won’t even let me

Leave this town


When it gets

To be too much

And I can’t handle

The softest touch


I put the pain

Into a box

And hide it

In the boondocks


Where it can

Not touch me

Frees me up

For a day, or three


Boxing up pain

Isn’t the best plan

At least it allows me

A basic life span


For every little trick

I’m told to try

Nothing works,

They make me cry


Stop telling me how

To live my life better

Every suggestion

Sounds like a chain letter


I’m doing my best,

Can’t you see

The pain won’t let me

Show my glee


Life is a struggle, and pain can be completely overwhelming at times.



Illness


What is great

In your life

What eases all

The pain and strife


Is it nature

Is it love

Is it a watcher

From above


Tell me your secrets

I’m begging you please

I can’t deal with

Another disease


My heart is racing

My head is full

My chest is heaving

I feel the pull


I don’t know where

I go from here

My future life

Is full of fear


I’m trying to keep

Bad thoughts at bay

When they get through

I start to decay


My life seems full

Of medical issues

White blood cells

Attack healthy tissues


Migraines make it

Hard to work

While EDS sits

And lurks


Waiting to make

My joints give out

Filling my days

With fear and doubt


Will I ever be

Normal again

Or will this be

My final end


I cannot think

Nor do I want to

Every future

Just makes me blue


I know I need

To send out good vibes

It’s just really

Hard sometimes


Today seems

Like one of those

I want to curl up

In the bedclothes


Under the blanket

Nothing can get me

Here I can

Imagine I’m free


Escape is a necessary outlet for chronic pain patients. We all need to find an outlet in our lives that allows us to put the pain aside, and makes us happy. The problems start when the pain is too much, and we don’t remember what made us happy to begin with.


** Unless noted, photos were sourced from the Wix website files.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page