top of page

May Blog Self Discovery Poems Week 1


This month I will be sharing some poems inspired by the VSS365 hashtag on twitter. May is Mental Health Awareness month. These poems deal with my mental health.



Empathy


When people are hurting

I feel their pain

It seems like a rapier

Poking my brain


It’s almost like

I’m an empath

I feel their hurt

Happiness, and wrath


Sometimes I know

What to say

Other times the words

Fade away


I have days

I can’t handle this

So I hide, pretending

Nothing’s amiss


Then there are days

I have to be strong

The ones where

Everything goes wrong


I know that life

Isn’t that easy

But would it be worth it

If life was too breezy


Life is a struggle

This I have learned

If it gets too easy

You’re about to be burned


Work hard as you can

Fight for everything

Keep on striving

Grab that gold ring


Having a heightened empathy level is difficult to live with, you seem to take on the struggles of those around you, even if you are in a good mental space. I am glad that I have this high of an empathy level. I am not complaining. It helps me to help my family when they are facing struggles.



Fragment


Being invisible

Is a burden

It leaves me feeling

Very uncertain


Do I exist?

Need I awaken?

Or am I a figment

Of your imagination?


I wish someone could tell me

Once and for all

Maybe then I’ll know

Just where I fall


Until then

My ego’s at risk

How can you succeed

If you don’t exist


My words are unheard

My ideas unheeded

I really don’t feel

My input is needed


I keep to myself

Most every day

Watching the world

Keep me at bay


It’s hard to discover

My true being

Invisibility isn’t

Truly that freeing


It’s my cross to bear

This much I know

Without struggles

We cannot grow


There are many times in my life where I have felt invisible, as if I don’t matter to those around me. Most of the time, it’s my own shortcomings that instigate the feelings. But, there are times when I am driving my car, and a semi truck decides to come into my lane, almost on top of me ( <- Reason #1 for staying off the highway ). I have also run into a few automatic hand dryers that won't work for me.



Silent


There’s too many options

It’s so hard to choose

My mind is vacillant

I’m very confused


I can’t decide

Which way to go

I feel blocked

I truly don’t know


There’s a ton of stuff

That needs be completed

But in my mind

I feel defeated


It’s hard sometimes

To concentrate

The foggy overload

Will not abate


Now I’m learning

To take some time

To center my body

And clear my mind


Hopefully this

Will help with my struggles

And bring clarity

In times of troubles


I want my mind

To be quick and keen Instead of feeling

Quarantined


I ask myself

Constantly

“What’s going on?”

“What do you need?”


My only response

Is echoing silence

I can’t even turn

To myself for guidance


So I struggle

And still press on

Though I can tell

My mind is gone


My whole body

Is on autopilot

I guess that’s why

It’s been so quiet


I do feel that my mind goes on vacation without me sometimes. It is really frustrating when this happens, but I have learned not to expect too much out of myself at those times.



Quitting


Sometimes I feel

Like a basket case

My head’s confused

I’m out in space


It’s hard to remember

What I’m doing

When I feel the urge

To smoke brewing


I’m trying to find

Other things to do

‘Cuz smoking cigarettes

Is making me blue


I need to quit

For my own health

Or they can lead

To a painful death


I know I can do it

I’m a vegan now

The hard part

Of quitting is how


Cutting out meat

Was easy for me

Smoking is harder to drop

As you can see


I’m trying to cut down

Week by week

I’m not so sure

About this technique


It relies a lot

On smoker’s honor

My will needs

To grow much stronger


Sometimes I forget

To mark one down

Then I feel

Like a big ole clown


It throws me off

I get confused

My feelings of

Accomplishment, disabused


Back to square one

Every day

How much longer

Can I live this way


This is the hardest thing I have ever done. I have relied on cigarettes for over 20 years to help keep me calm and remove stress. Unfortunately, my body is rebelling against me now. I can’t seem to stop coughing, and I recently found out I have a mild form of emphysema. So quitting is now a necessity.



I will be posting more poems from my upcoming book for the rest of the month, I hope you enjoy this look inside my soul. Until next week, keep your eyes to the skies!


**All photos were sourced from the WIX website files for this blog**

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page