top of page

Vss365 week 5

1/24/21 - 1/30/21


Idol


Original 1/24/21


When we idolize a star

We expect more than they are


Picking an idol takes careful thought

Finding a celeb doing what they ought


I haven’t found one yet, you see

Idolizing humans isn’t for me


New version


When we idolize a star

We expect more than they are


Picking an idol takes careful thought

Finding a celeb doing what they ought


I haven’t found one yet, you see

Idolizing humans isn’t for me


I’ve decided to live my life

Spreading lots of love, not strife


I try to imitate Jesus Christ

For us he made his sacrifice


If we treat everyone as a friend

Love and goodness we extend


Love God, and love each other

Then this world won’t be a bother


We can turn this whole thing around

For hope and peace will abound


Find an idol worthy of you

There must be one out there that’s true


My Take:


This is part of my personal philosophy of life, I am not trying to push my beliefs on anyone. I’ve just found that idolizing humans lets me down every time, because they are human. Human beings are flawed, not one human living on this earth is perfect. That’s the way it’s supposed to be. I see our time alive as time to work on our personal flaws and spread hope and love to others.





Jump


Original 1/25/21


I jump at every little sound

That crashes and bangs in the background


My nerves are shot, my heart pounds fast

Anymore of these scares and I won’t last


I need to chill myself out

Before I face a full burnout


New version


I jump at every little sound

That clangs and bangs in the background


My nerves are shot, my heart pounds fast

Any more scares, and I won’t last


I need to chill myself out

Before I face a full burnout


When I search for the sounds, of course,

They never seem to have a source


It feels like I’m losing my mind

To search forever but never find


The source of all the noises I hear

It’s all in my mind, I fear


No one hears the things I do

It’s enough to make one blue


Still I doggedly press on

Till my future, final dawn


I will last, I will keep living

Full of hope and thanksgiving


My Take:


A new house means new sounds, and it takes a while to find them all. It’s even harder when you can only hear the noises if the house is completely silent. Which doesn’t happen often.





Danger


Original 1/26/21


The world is full of danger

Leaving home is a wager


Will you make it back alive

From finding food to survive


When society’s gone and you’re all alone

Will you sit, and groan, and moan


About the unfairness of all of this

Or will you rise over the abyss


New version - Mina


The world is full of danger

Leaving home is a wager


Will you make it back alive

From finding food to survive


When society’s gone and you’re all alone

Will you embrace depression and moan


About the unfairness of all of this

Or will you rise over the abyss


To take your life in your own hands

Surviving the trip through the badlands


Pursuing the group that ruined your life

Collecting allies while Raiders cause strife


The life of a Villager is one of fear

When Raiders come looting what is dear


The rest of the story will have to wait

It needs more time for me to create.


My Take:


Mina is the name of the main character in my Dystopian WIP. After Raiders attack her village, she begins her quest to save her family. In my dystopian world, nuclear radiation has changed the people and animals. Animals have increased in size, and predators have developed venom. Villagers have the chameleon-like ability to blend into their background. Raiders possess different forms of ESP talents. Prophetic dreaming, compelling vocals, and hypnotic stares are only a few of the powers Raiders have developed from the radiation. This WIP has been planned as a trilogy, I’m still writing book one.





Paradise


Original 1/27/21


Stuck at home the way we’ve been

Gives us time to sit and spin


We’ve turned a portion of our home

Into paradise with sand and sea foam


It’s a spot that gives us peace

When finished it’ll be a masterpiece


New version


Stuck at home the way we’ve been

Gives us time to sit and spin


We’ve turned a portion of our home

Into paradise, sand and sea foam


In this space we find peace

Once finished, it’s a masterpiece


A place to sit and absorb the scene

Waving palm trees and a sea of green


We dream of yachts, and boats at sea

With our family we’ll be set free


To sail the ocean evermore

Visiting each and every shore


Seeing sights we never did before

Places like Fiji and Singapore

This would bring joy and happiness too

Who else would like to come, you?


My Take:


We’ve been working on our basement since we moved in (beginning of Covid) and it’s coming together. Sandy floors, peaceful wall scene, relaxing colors painted on the walls. Even though there is no furniture yet, it is one of the most peaceful places in our house. I’ve always wanted to sail the ocean, go places I’ve never been. It’s a bucket list thing, maybe someday.





Disease


Original 1/28/21


Having a disease is a chore

Mostly one you abhor


Doing what the doctor ordered

Just a chance on moving forward


Taking meds might not work

I still can’t do the housework


Mine is generic, there is no cure

As days go by, I must endure


New version


Having a disease is a chore

Mostly one you abhor


Doing what the doctor ordered

Very slim chance on moving forward


Taking meds might not work

Still can’t do most housework


Mine is genetic, there is no cure

As days go by I must endure


The pain and anguish that pins me down

Won’t even let me leave this town


When it gets to be too much

And I can’t handle the softest touch


I put the pain into a box

And hide it in the boondocks


Where it cannot touch me

Frees me up for a day, or three


Boxing up pain isn’t the best plan

At least it allows me a basic life span


For every little trick I’m told to try

Nothing works, they make me cry


Stop telling me how to live my life better

Every suggestion sounds like a chain letter


I’m doing my best, can’t you see

The pain won’t let me show my glee


My Take:


Pain is a difficult thing to live with, especially if it’s caused by a disease. You continually ask yourself, “What did I do to deserve this?” It’s also difficult not to let the pain make you lash out at others. Very difficult. Some days I can’t keep my positive mindset because the pain is too overwhelming to box up. Then there are the days when the pain is so minimal (or suppressed) that I can move, and get things done. Those are good days.





Run


Original 1/29/21


Watching the pets run and play

Makes me laugh every day


Our dog plays keep away with his toys

This is something he really enjoys


Our cat likes to pretend attack

Using our hall like a racetrack


Our pets bring us joy

Our sadness they destroy.


New version - Pet Love


Watching the pets run and play

Makes us laugh every day


Toby likes to play keep away with his toys

It’s a game he really enjoys


When playing outside, we’ve met our match

That dog is almost impossible to catch


Pony likes to pretend attack

She uses our hall like a racetrack


She likes to play on her own

Pouncing on mice, she’s in the zone


They’re good to each other, most of the time

Although the cat can flip on a dime


Then claws come out, and fur starts flying

Voices are raised, and the dog starts crying


Other than that, they’re good together

Day by day they’re getting better


Our pets bring us lots of joy

The cat Pony-girl, and dog Toby-boy


My Take:


It has been years since our cat, Pony, has attacked our dog, Toby. They are good friends, until Toby gets too rambunctious. Pony has been keeping her claws in, so that’s improved. Every morning I have a front row seat to the ‘Daily Steeplechase’. Pony always wins, unless Toby is awake. Living with these fuzzy lovable animals has brought joy into our lives daily. It is great to have this kind of connection with something, especially right now





Butterfly


Original 1/30/21


The flight of a butterfly is appealing

Even as our hearts are reeling


When grandma died one flitted by

Pausing our tearful outcry


The butterfly reminds us life goes on

When our loves don’t meet the dawn


They fly like spirits on the wind

A dipping, diving whirlwind


New version - Missing Love


The flight of a butterfly is appealing

Even as our hearts are reeling


Butterflies remind us life goes on

When our loves can’t meet the dawn


They fly like spirits on the wind

Dipping and diving in the headwind


When grandma died one flitted by

Pausing our woe, and tearful outcry


Grandma left a hole in our life

The loss of her love caused some strife


Now we’re learning to move forward

Though pressing on feels disordered


I feel like I’ve left something behind

Was it grandma, or my peace of mind


She was always there for me

When life was hard, or carefree


Grandma had time for all of us

She gave us love, then she’d fuss


A grandmother’s love knows how to soar

Just like the butterflies we adore


We’ve come back around, full circle

Butterflies may be spirits eternal


My Take:


My grandmother passed away in August of 2019, I still miss her every day. I kept breaking into tears as I wrote, and and re-wrote, the new version of the poem; and tears are gathering in my eyes as I write this. My grandmother basically raised me, my parents didn’t really know how to handle me. She was the only one that could get through to the hard-headed, rebellious teen I used to be. The picture below was drawn by my mother, Shelly Hutch, as a way to deal with her grief, it always brings me comfort.




Thanks for reading. Next week will begin my weeklong story with the prompt words. See you then.


4💜 - Keep your eyes to the skies -


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page