top of page

Vss365 week 3

1/10/21 - 1/16/21


Vandalism


Original 1/10/21


To damage someone else’s things,

Just to show you are a king.


It doesn’t make any sense to me,

Why can’t you let their things be?


Damage and destroy with tags of color,

Vandalism hurts many others.


New version - Restoration


Fires burn, and stores get looted,

Vandalism makes people stupid.


Stealing and destroying what they don’t need,

This arrogant act is full of greed.


People want things they haven’t earned,

So they sit back while the world burns.


Looting stores and burning rubble.

Do you know the depth of trouble,


Small business owners have been through last year?

Why start 2021 off with fear?


Let's put down the crowbars and spray cans,

Pick up a broom, show pride in our lands.


When you help others you will see,

Peace and joy, with clarity.


Working together we can replace,

Fear with love in the marketplace.


My Take:


I have seen the seething mass of humanity rioting in anger and frustration, in many countries. Our world is crying out for justice and peace. But our cries go unheard. I see vandalism as the refuge of the weak, it is easier to destroy than create. On average, $3,370 is spent to repair a single act of vandalism (Cost of Vandalism Article: http://qstartech.com ). Cops consider it a gateway crime; business struggle, and communities deteriorate. All because someone couldn’t respect another person’s belongings or space.





Vellum


Original 1/11/21


Papyrus was something, vellum was better

Now we use paper to write our letters


Letters of love, letters of hate;

Letters to change for the better, Mate.


Staying in contact with those we can’t see;

Brings the world’s love to you and me.


New version


Papyrus was first, vellum came next;

Our paper’s most recent, it is the best.


Fabric and water together are bound;

Pressed close, tightly, extruded in round.


Rolls of many different papers we make;

Colors abound, which will you take?


I will choose either purple or blue;

To pen my long love letter to you.


A letter of hope, for the world around;

A letter of love, for change we are bound.


A letter to tell you all of my feelings,

A guide to help you through your healing.


You’ve proved you will always be there for me;

I know I have too, your love’s all I need.


My Take:


Thinking about vellum, led me to paper. Once I began thinking about paper, writing letters was a natural jump, for me. The long flowery ones people used to write, before technology conquered our lives. Images of letters tied with ribbon kept popping in my mind. I used to work at an envelope production company. I remember the huge rolls of paper, waiting to be turned into envelopes. This is the source for some of the imagery in the revamped verse.





Valor


Original 1/12/21


For those that served, Honor comes first;

Valor? Integrity? Those aren’t the worst.


A veterans life is full of these,

Till they find it’s hidden fees.


Jumping through hoops is the only way;

To get what they earned, for Gov’t pay.


New version - Veterans


Honor, integrity, Valor, and Deed;

These are our words, our vow, our creed.


As a military veteran I took them to heart;

I worked my hardest, I did my part.


“Never leave a man behind”

Was carved in my heart at MIA time.


There was a lot we had to do,

To keep our country safe for you.


Learning to shoot, learning to fight,

Until we had the moves just right.


Then one day the world did change,

They turned our country into a bomb range.


The towers fell, they collapsed to dust;

The country in mourning, something must


Be done to protect the people from fear;

The military is called, the way is clear


The war on terror had begun;

When Osama was dead, our war we had won.


Unfortunately, this was not to be;

The war continued, too long for me.


Sometimes the Gov’t doesn’t stay true;

To what they tell me and you.


We are peons, what can I say;

Those running the country get their way.


My Take:


As a veteran, valor is something I’ve tried to integrate into my being. Enlisting in the military was a life changing experience. I was a child when I signed up (running away from change), and an adult when I left (married, pregnant, with my life about to crash around me). If the military taught me anything, it’s that everything we took an oath on boiled down to this: “Be true to yourself, to your country, to your family, and to those around you.”


Go, be valiant.

Go, be honorable.

Go, be true.





Vicarious


Original 1/13/21


Living through others has always helped me,

Have a joyful life, vicariously.


I can’t run, I can’t play;

My body isn’t made that way.


When I pick up a book and read,

My pain is gone, I am freed.


New version


Living in pain and misery;

I find my joy vicariously.


I can’t run, I can’t play;

My body wasn’t made that way.


When I pick up a book and read,

My pain is suppressed, I am freed.


I can escape to worlds unbound;

Where dragons and Fairies fly around.


Or visit a world where technology reigns;

I will do anything to avoid my pains.


Living this way is not much fun;

Can I have a real life? I only want one.


I want my body to work like it did,

When I was younger, when I was a kid.


I used to climb trees all day long,

Or walk for miles when I felt wronged.


Now I can’t enjoy either of those;

Getting older keeps you on your toes.


Everyday I wonder, how it would be;

To wake without pain. I’d finally be free.


The pain forms shackles holding me down;

While my soul flies free, above the ground.


The pain may be permanent my friend;

Although I swear it won’t be my end.


I know I am stronger than the pain I receive;

My will grows daily, I do not grieve.


My Take:


Pain is supposed to be your body’s way of telling you to slow down, or stop. When you wake up feeling like a truck ran you over in your sleep, what are you supposed to do then? Still haven’t gotten a clear answer from the doctors on that. So I just do the best that I can, and bugger the rest.





Vocabulary


Original 1/14/21


Terms for speaking,

Phrases for writing,

Vocabulary makes your world enticing.


Bring your readers through the door,

Use your vocab, show them more,

Teach them all your Elder Lore.


Our worlds are wrought with what we desire,

Although some scenes may be quite dire,

Light up your readers, bring the fire.


New version


Words for speaking,

Words for writing,

Vocabulary makes your world enticing.


Bring your readers through the door,

Teach them all your Elder Lore,

Use your vocab, show them more.


Our worlds are wrought with what we desire,

Although some scenes may be quite dire,

Light up your readers, bring the fire.


Teach them something new today,

Enlarge their vocab, they will stay,

With new words they can play.


Take your vocab words to heart,

Learn even more, bring on the smart,

Write an extra special part.


My Take:


I use a lot of obscure words in my WIPs. I’ve had a few beta’s tell me they’ve had to look up some of them. I learned the definition of most words through context while I read. I am pleased to discover a new word I haven’t seen before, and I can’t wait to try it out. Open your minds to the words around you, you never know what you’ll discover.





Vacate


Original 1/15/21


When my car caught on fire

We vacated fast

Taking what we desire

We ran from the blast.


I was in tears

The stress was immense

All of my fears

Stood at the fence


My new car was gone in a week

At that point, my bad luck peaked.


New version - Car Fire


When the car caught on fire

We vacated fast

Grabbing what we desired

We ran from the blast


I was in tears

The stress was immense

I covered my ears

The situation intense


A fire truck came

Policemen did too

They put out the flame

We were still blue


His father had died

And now we were stuck

Without a ride

It must be our luck


Eventually things got all straightened out

Insurance paid for the car, no need to pout.


My Take:


A car fire is a scary thing. Coming on the heels of the death of a family member, well, it’s no surprise that I had a bit of a crying jag. I’m grateful for the Colerain Emergency Services. The cops gave us a lift off the highway, and we were able to get a ride home. “All’s well that ends well” as the saying goes. Looking back now, 2 months later, I can chalk it up as a learning experience. Now I know, when the oil light comes on, Get the levels checked! Here’s to learning something new every day. 🥂





Reflection


Original 1/16/21



Our reflection doesn’t always show

Who we are, deep below.


Mirrors show us what others see

Not who we want to be

We are so much more than what’s shown to others

To mothers and fathers, sisters and brothers


New version


Our reflection won’t always show

Who we are deep below


Mirrors show us what others see

Not always revealing all we can be


We are more than what’s shown to others

Our mothers and fathers, sisters and brothers


Our core, our being is hidden inside

Our light, our soul is where it abides


Our world needs love, now more than ever

We can get there if we work together


Show the mirror something new today

Bring out your inner light, let it play


My Take:


I detest looking at my reflection. There is just so much about my appearance that I find fault with. Sometimes I feel that when people look at me all they see are my faults. I prefer to concentrate on my inner being. I try to help others (at a distance) and show my love for all. It helps me to forget what I see in the mirror everyday.




All images sourced through the Wix website.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page