top of page

Migraine: Poems

Since Chronic Migraine Awareness Month is here (June), I decided to write a little "poem" . It doesn't really rhyme, but it does express my thoughts and feelings about dealing with this disease. This is a fun blog, no information to impart (sorry for the lateness) just a few little poems about migraines.


Choices that aren't ours

Hating our days

Reason is out the window

Only the truest loves stay.

Never think

It's easy living with

Chronic pain.


Migraines pull us to pieces

Impairment of our lives

Gives us endless days of

Relentless pain and advice

All we really want

Is the return of inner peace.

No one feels at ease

Every day, no relief, help us

Someone, please.


"Fall seven times, stand up eight" - 1000+ chronic pain quotes on Pinterest.


Below are some poems I wrote about my migraines. Sounds focuses on the noises that trigger my migraines, and Triggers deals with all the others.


Sounds


I wish there was a way

To wrap up my head

To make it soundproof

Before I get out of bed


It would really help

With the noises I hear

Like tinnitus

That won’t disappear


Or the buzz

Of electricity

These effect

My life miserably


Sirens and jackhammers

Are daily struggles

Every noise

Tightens my muscles


Causing a migraine

To bloom daily

Turning good days

Into something shady


I can’t remember

What pain free felt like

It’s from a different life

Hazy, dreamlike


It’s been so long

Since I’ve been free

From the pain

That’s hounding me



Triggers


Red wine, bacon

And most processed meats

Contain sulfites

That I can’t eat

MSG, any storm

Noises too loud to ignore

All the above

Trigger migraines I pay for

Onions, indoor lighting

And computer work

Are three more

That cause this quirk

I can’t get away

From this curse of mine

So I have to pretend

Everything is fine

Keep pushing through

To get things done

I know I can’t be

The only one

Who pushes through pain

When they have a task

Then again

I’ve never asked

I only know

If I take a break

It doesn’t help

I get the shakes

Then I can’t

Get started again

It’s hard to suppress

The throbbing pain

Of muscles that worked

Too hard for you

It takes a few days

For me to renew

My spirit and soul

And get back on track

Though I need a few weeks

To fully bounce back

I’m getting older

What can I say

Tons of new aches

Have come out to play

I know this is part

Of mortal aging

I want to enjoy

My time remaining

Even when I’ve been

Benched for weeks

And the migraines

Are at their peaks

I won’t give up

I won’t give in

I won’t let

The agony win

I’m working out

And getting stronger

I’m sticking around

For much longer

I won’t let go

Of my only hope

That one day

I could possibly cope

With the pain

That brings me down

Every time

I turn around

I know that I

Will have a day

When all this pain

Just goes away



I am beginning to feel a bit overwhelmed by trying to come up with and get a blog posted on time weekly. I am going to be taking another short break from blogging. I will be back in August.


July 15 is the final day for the cover contest entries. In August I will be posting the entries I’ve received. I’ll see you then. Keep your eyes to the skies, and check out my poetry on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Reddit.






17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page