top of page

General update, and Contest info

Updated: Jun 4, 2021

I wanted to start this blog off by saying welcome to all my new readers, and welcome back to all my old friends:) I hope you are all enjoying my content.


This past month has been fast moving. I went to a graduation out of state. I had an eighteen year old move in with me and I added a junior editor to my staff. (they’re all the same person). She will be in charge of the social media accounts, and may help with some of the blogging and #WYOA (Write Your Own Adventure) ideas.


I have been working on a poetry book since the end of December 2020. Every few months I post some poems as my monthly blog musings. I try to intersperse those months with short stories. For the rest of this month I will be posting about Migraines. June is National Migraine Awareness Month, and I have a lot of good information for those afflicted, and those who are not.


Contest reminder



Back in March I started a contest to help me find the perfect cover. So far I have received a whopping 1 entry. And that’s okay. I have a few more I colored on my own so I will have at least 4 for my panel to choose from when the contest ends. If you are interested in entering the contest, there is still time. You can find the rules and download the link below.


I have received some great feedback on my most recent poetic post, and I just wanted to give a heartfelt shout out to @snoozywrites. Thank you for your kind words, they made my day.






Below are some poems that I’ve written prompt-less. The Mother’s Day one was a requested poem, and was shared at Pleasant Run Presbyterian Church on Mother’s Day 2021. The poem titled “Imposter” contains feelings that continually crop up, whenever you try something new.


Mother’s day

Have you thanked a mother lately

For all the things they do greatly

Cooking, cleaning, doctoring you

Being there when you are blue

Their caring and love comes from the heart

Especially when we are apart

A mother’s love is unconditional

Just like Gods, it’s not mystical

Your mother carried you for nine months

There is nothing she wouldn’t confront

To keep you safe, healthy, and happy

I promise I’m not about to get sappy

Your mother loves you, this much is true

She will do anything to carry you through

A mother is there in dark times or light

Nothing wants to face her might

A mom believes in you with her whole heart

And as always tries to impart

Society’s rules for your behavior

Like the Golden Rule, “Love your neighbor”

My mother has taught me many things

She’s always been the wind beneath my wings

This Mother’s Day, please take some time

Write your mom a couple of lines

Let her know what she means to you

Show her from your point of view

It will definitely make her day

To hear from you in this way



Imposter


Assailed with doubts

I’m drowning in the sea

Keeping my head down

Is lack of faith in me

Every day is a struggle

To make my dreams come true

And time after time I watch

Them crumble under my shoe

I don’t have the strength

To believe in myself

I’m just an imposter

I don’t belong on your shelf

My pain should be secret

And hidden away

Instead I’ve placed it

Out on display

I’m trying to find the point

Deep down inside

To kindle my belief

So I don’t need to hide

I fear the day

Will never come

When I proudly stand

In the sun

So I lurk in

The dark and dismal

Where egos are tattered

And souls are abysmal

It’s so hard to see

We can’t find our way out

And no one above

Can hear when we shout

Us lost souls

Keep dropping lower

Our hopes and dreams

Fading in power

No one can help us

We’re all on our own

Our belief is on us

It was never on loan

It faded away under

Our pain and neglect

But if we take a leap

We can resurrect

As it grows

We can share it at will

It’s as easy as

Sliding downhill

I’m working hard

I’ll get there someday

I won’t let my fears

Keep me at bay

So till then

I just want to say

Belief in a higher power

Is made to save the day


11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page